Initial Impressions

I’ve been living in Prague for close to two weeks now, so it seemed timely to write a blog post on my initial impressions. So far, I absolutely love it here. In such a short amount of time, Prague has quickly become my favorite city in the world. Below you can read my thoughts and tips about Prague, its people, and more.

The City

blog-clock-me

Inside the Astronomical Tower

Prague is simply magical. Take a walk around Prague 1 and 2, and you’ll notice that every building is ornate, historical, and gorgeous. Being in the city makes you feel like you’re in the presence of history. Since Prague wasn’t bombed during either of the World Wars, its buildings from a thousand years ago remain intact. I could walk around for hours just admiring the view. One of my favorite moments so far was climbing to the top of the famous Astronomical Tower in Old Town Square to see a breathtaking view of the red-roofed city.

The People

The Czech people are quite nearly the opposite of the stereotypical American. They are quiet and reserved but can also be extremely friendly and kind-hearted. Respect their history, and they will treat you the same. I’ve also found that making the effort to speak a Czech phrase or two goes a long way.

The Food

As it turns out, there isn’t really much by way of Czech cuisine. Much traditional Czech food, such as goulash, originated from Hungary. Nevertheless, if you popped into a Czech restaurant, you would find a heavy menu filled with different meats, bread/potato dumplings, and a wide variety of beers. And for dessert? Prague is known for trdelnik, a ring of fried dough that is coated with cinnamon-sugar. Inside, you can order them with nutella, whipped cream, or ice cream.

blog-goulash

Goulash ordered at a traditional Czech restaurant

What’s left on my Czech Food Czech List?

  • Roasted Pork Knee
  • Roasted Duck
  • Street Sausage
  • Fried Cheese
  • Trdelnik with ice cream
  • Potato Chips on a stick

 

The Language

Moving to Prague, I was a bit nervous about the language barrier and how I would manage with my (extremely) limited knowledge of Czech. Luckily, most Czechs speak some degree of English, so I’m able to get by. I’ve made an attempt to learn Czech, but the language is incredibly difficult to pick up. It took me longer than I care to admit to learn how to say “Thank you” or in Czech, “Děkuji.” Not to mention how much time I spend in the grocery store trying to figure out all the different foods. Google Translate is a lifesaver.

blog-trdelnik

 

All in all, I couldn’t be happier with my decision to study in Prague. It’s a completely different experience from anything I’ve ever had before, but I’m excited to embrace it with trdelnik in hand.

 

9 thoughts on “Initial Impressions

  1. Eilene says:

    Sounds amazing. I’m so jealous as it is a place I’ve wanted to visit There is still time and now I have you as a tour guide. Loved reading this. Can’t wait for your next piece. Happy that you are happy.

    Like

  2. LAURA ZIPPERER says:

    Very excited for you. Gail and I are going there in late August. Will have to get your insights on things to do. Happy studying. Laura

    Like

Leave a Reply

